top of page

Members Making an Impact

In 2021, members of Save the Earth Club and The Wildlife Society shared their knowledge of environmental conservation. How do you conserve? There are many ways you can conserve or care for the planet! Do you recycle? Do you help participate in eco-groups that help collect trash at the beach? Have you "adopted" an animal from World Wildlife Fund or participated in a tree planting event? Do you bring your bags to the grocery store or buy only 'Green' products? The ideas are endless! Here are some of the ways that Save the Earth & The Wildlife Society members are participating in environmental conservation:


I collect recycling materials from others who do not recycle weekly. ~Darlene Rhodes


I lower my waste consumption by reducing garbage from plastic. I have reusable stainless steel storage containers, straws and bottles. I do not travel on unnecessary trips often to help reduce carbon emissions. Currently, I chart my output and recycle ♻️. ~L. Anderson


My oldest daughter (7) and I go hiking specifically to pick up litter. It’s a healthy activity for us and helps clean up the Earth as well! ~Chris White


I recycle as much as I can, even though my area doesn't have the best or clearest recycling program! ~Karina England


I conserve energy by ensuring all appliances and other electronics are turned off when I’m not using them, as well as making sure to not use large appliances (washer dryer for example) during peak hours. I also make sure the electronics/appliances I purchase are Energy Star rated. ~A.E.Lattus


We have a tiny farm where we compost our scraps to use as fertilizer for our garden. This year we had a great harvest of tomatoes, watermelons, peas, and cucumbers just some of our harvest we use to cook tasty homemade dishes. This is just a small sample of the conservation we do on our tiny farm to reduce the carbon footprint. We love doing whatever we can to conserve in our community of south Texas. ~Brian Stream


I conserve by recycling, but not only using a recycling bin. I also repurpose items. I took used candles and painted them as Halloween decor. I also reused some of my chemistry lab kit, a cardboard box, and gravel to make a mini graveyard to have more decor. ~Shareen Ghaly


I conserve by ALWAYS bringing my own bags to the grocery store! ~Dawn Thompson


We planted vegetables that were going bad. This included slices of a tomato, pepper

seeds from inside a pepper, and an older small potato. We cut drainage holes in plastic

milk containers. I'm not a plant person, so I thought I was doomed, but they grew! I have

4 peppers, a dozen small potatoes, and over a dozen tomatoes. We have since had to

transfer them a few times into bigger pots! In northern New Hampshire, after the snow melts to reveal the trash on the ground, we have a pride day. Everyone signs up to pick up trash in an area. We have recently planted wildflowers and have seen bees and more birds. We're going to expand and do the whole side yard with them next year. We're also going to get a couple apple trees planted this year. ~Shana Enos


This is what I/our family practice:

- planted a garden using organic methods

- retained much of the native plants and trees around our garden

- became certified as a wildlife habitat

- recycle (pre-COVID; recycling not being accepted now)

- rain barrels and rain catchment for watering the garden and chickens

- compost pile

- planted native plants garden for pollinators

- helped a gopher tortoise cross the road

- use natural wildlife deterrents versus poison or other means

- planted a wildlife garden (which also helps deter them from our gardens)

~Shelby Jackson-Register


We recycle soda cans, plastic and glass bottles, and cardboard boxes at home. I also

have my work center recycling cans and bottles so that we have money to fund our

snack bar. ~Ashley Fowler


I’m a park ranger and I regularly do eco-friendly actions like planting trees, working, and maintaining gardens both at work and in my personal time. We have a bathroom facility in Carter Park which I assist in maintaining that we built to be incredibly friendly to the environment. It has solar panels across the roof which collects solar energy in the battery array system and is used to power the lights. It also has a massive rain water reclamation system that collects rain water which is then filtered and used in the restroom for sinks and toilets. ~Justin Hurt


My family recycles everything possible. We also have a small garden each year ranging from

tomatoes, green peppers, lettuce, and green beans to pumpkins and watermelons.

Each year when my family goes on vacation to the beach, my children walk along the

shore and pick up trash that others have discarded. I am also a lifelong trout angler and

hunter and I have always encouraged everyone I hunt and fish with to always find at

least one piece of trash in the woods and take it out and dispose of it properly. This is

just a small list of things my family and I do to help maintain a healthier environment! ~Josh Leary


Thank you to all of the members that participated!

bottom of page